How diverse are echinoderms?

How diverse are echinoderms?

With 7,000 living species, echinoderms are very diverse (Mulcrone, 2005). Echinoderms vary in physiology and morphology such as shape, size (width and length), color and locomotion. Amongst the five main classes of echinoderms, probably the most obvious difference is the shape of the body.

Which class of echinoderms is most diverse?

The two most diverse classes in the phylum Echinodermata are Ophiuroidea and Asteroidea. Members of Ophiuroidea are commonly referred to as brittle stars. This class has about 2,300 species. Asteroidea has about 1,750 species and its members are commonly referred to as starfish.

Are echinoderms triploblastic?

It was recognised that echinoderms, hemichordates and chordates – including vertebrates – were members of one evolutionary line, the deuterostomes, when all three groups were found to share the following four, basic developmental features: All are triploblastic: their three-layered bodies derive from three germ layers.

What makes an echinoderm an echinoderm?

echinoderm, any of a variety of invertebrate marine animals belonging to the phylum Echinodermata, characterized by a hard, spiny covering or skin.

What animals are in the group Echinodermata?

Echinoderms. Echinoderms are a phylum of marine invertebrates that include starfish, brittle stars, sea cucumbers, sea urchins, sand dollars, and crinoids.

What characteristics do all echinoderms share?

Although all living echinoderms have a pentamerous (five-part) radial symmetry, an internal skeleton, and a water-vascular system derived from the coelom (central cavity), their general appearance ranges from that of the stemmed, flowerlike sea lilies, to the wormlike, burrowing sea cucumbers, to the heavily armoured …

Do echinoderms have segmentation?

Echinoderms: spiny-skinned animals that lack body segmentation but have radial symmetry (usually five g y y ( y part) and an internal skeleton.

What best describes an echinoderm?

What are echinoderms?

Introduction: What are Echinoderms? Echinoderms are a group of marine animals consisting of well known organisms such as the starfish, sea cucumber and the sand dollar. The phylum Echinodermata consists of about 7000 living species and the phylum is divided into five smaller classes.

How many species are in the phylum Echinodermata?

The phylum Echinodermata consists of about 7000 living species and the phylum is divided into five smaller classes. Echinodermata is Greek for “spiny skinned.”

How does the fishing industry affect echinoderms?

The fishing industry removes substantial amounts of the echinoderms’ diet from the oceans including, clams, mussels, and oysters. This reduces the food available to the echinoderms. The pet trade also has several direct effects on many species of echinoderms.

Do echinoderms reproduce sexually or asexually?

The larvae of some echinoderm species are capable of asexual reproduction. This has long been known to occur among starfish and brittle stars but has been more recently observed in a sea cucumber, a sand dollar and a sea urchin. These species belong to four of the major classes of echinoderms except crinozoans (as of 2011).