What are the 13 colonies in order by date?

Each link will send you to a short history further down the page.

What are the 13 colonies in order by date?

Each link will send you to a short history further down the page.

  • Virginia/Jamestown: 1607.
  • Massachusetts: 1620.
  • New Hampshire: 1623.
  • Maryland: 1632-1634.
  • Connecticut: 1636.
  • Rhode Island: 1636.
  • Delaware: 1638.
  • North Carolina: 1663.

Which of the 13 colonies was the first to become a state?

The first (and last) U.S. states Among the Thirteen colonies, Virginia was the first to be settled by English people. Depending on how we define “states” in this instance, the first state to create its own constitution was Connecticut.

What are the 50 states in order of statehood?

The United States in Order of Statehood

Order State Date Admitted
47 New Mexico 1912-1-26
48 Arizona 1912-2-14
49 Alaska 1959-1-3
50 Hawaii 1959-8-21

What state was not one of the original Thirteen Colonies?

Detailed Solution. Colorado was NOT part of the original 13 colonies. The Thirteen Colonies were a group of British colonies founded in the 17th and 18th centuries on the Atlantic coast of America which declared independence in 1776 and formed the United States of America.

When did states become states?

list of U.S. states’ dates of admission to the union

state date of admission
Delaware December 7, 1787*
Pennsylvania December 12, 1787*
New Jersey December 18, 1787*
Georgia January 2, 1788*

What was the 13th state?

Rhode Island
On this date, Rhode Island became the 13th state to enter the Union after ratifying the Constitution.

Which country founded the thirteen American colonies that later became the United States?

The Thirteen Colonies, also known as the Thirteen British Colonies, the Thirteen American Colonies, or later as the United Colonies, were a group of British colonies on the Atlantic coast of North America.

Which states were not in the original 13 colonies?


  • Rhode Island
  • Virginia
  • South Carolina
  • North Carolina
  • Georgia
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Pennsylvania
  • New Hampshire
  • What is the Order of the 13 original colonies?

    What were the 13 original colonies in order? The original 13 colonies were Delaware, Pennsylvania, Massachusetts Bay Colony (which included Maine), New Jersey, Georgia, Connecticut, Maryland, South Carolina, New Hampshire, Virginia, New York, North Carolina, and Rhode Island and Providence Plantations.

    What was the 13 original colonies that became States?

    States by Order of Entry Into the Union. They were founded in the 17th and 18th centuries and became The Thirteen Colonies in 1776, when they declared independence.The colonies became states of the new nation in 1788, when the ninth and final necessary state ratified the United States Constitution.

    How did the US get the first 13 colonies?

    The first 13 states of the United States of America were comprised of the original British colonies established between 17th and 18th centuries. While the first English settlement in North America was the Colony and Dominion of Virginia, established 1607, the permanent 13 colonies were established as follows: The New England Colonies