What are the 7 major themes of Catholic social teaching?

What are the 7 major themes of Catholic social teaching?

Seven Major Themes of Catholic Social Teaching

  • Life and Dignity of the Human Person.
  • Call to Family, Community, and Participation.
  • Rights and Responsibilities.
  • Option for the Poor and Vulnerable.
  • The Dignity of Work and the Rights of Workers.
  • Solidarity.
  • Care for God’s Creation.

What is the first social encyclical?

The first encyclical was written in 1740 by Pope Benedict XIV. Since then, nearly 300 have been written. Popes have published encyclicals on issues of general concern, like peace or human rights, after Pope Leo XIII issued an encyclical on labor and social justice in 1897.

Who made the Catholic social teachings?

Pope Leo XIII’s

What are the Catholic social teachings related to poverty?

Consideration of poverty in Catholic social teaching begins with the foundation that each person is both sacred and social, created in God’s image, and destined to share in the goods of the earth as part of a community of justice and mercy.

What are the social encyclicals?

Social Encyclicals

  • Rerum Novarum: On the Condition of Workers.
  • Quadragesimo Anno: On the Reconstruction of the Social Order.
  • Mater et Magistra: Mother and Teacher.
  • Pacem in Terris: Peace on Earth.
  • Populorum Progressio: On the Development of People.
  • Laborem Exercens: On Human Work.

What is the most recent encyclical?

The encyclical calls for more human fraternity and solidarity, and is a plea to reject wars….Fratelli tutti.

Fratelli tutti Italian for ‘All Brothers’ Encyclical of Pope Francis
Signature date 3 October 2020
Subject On fraternity and social friendship
Number 3 of 3 of the pontificate
Original language Spanish