What caused the Colorado floods in 2013?

What caused the Colorado floods in 2013?

Starting on September 11, 2013, a slow-moving cold front stalled over Colorado, clashing with warm humid monsoonal air from the south. This resulted in heavy rain and catastrophic flooding along Colorado’s Front Range from Colorado Springs north to Fort Collins.

What does IFSC stand for climbing?

The IFSC Climbing World Cup is a series of climbing competitions held annually and organized by the International Federation of Sport Climbing (IFSC). The athletes compete in three disciplines: lead, bouldering and speed.

How can I watch IFSC?

IFSC PLATFORMS Boulder semi-finals and finals, Lead semi-finals and finals, Paraclimbing finals, and Speed finals will be streamed live on the IFSC YouTube channel, in addition to being made available to watch on demand following the competition.

How did the County of Boulder Colorado respond to the flood in 2013?

One program that Boulder County administered in the wake of the 2013 Flood is the Buyout Program. This program purchased flood damaged properties that may have a threat of future danger and turned the property into undeveloped land in perpetuity.

What does zone mean in climbing?

In a lead-style scoring system the climber is awarded a certain number of points for each hold they reach, with the highest points awarded for a finished route. The IFSC and Olympic competitions use a bonus hold called the “Zone”; the number of attempts to reach the Zone (if reached) further stratifies the competitors.

What are zones in bouldering?

WHAT IS A ZONE IN BOULDERING? In the bouldering competition, climbers can also help their score by using the ‘zone’ hold of a boulder problem. The zone will usually be part way up the climb, and athletes have to use it in a controlled way. The final leaderboard is determined in order of tops, attempts, and zones.

How many qualify for climbing final?

There are 20 competitors starting in the qualifying rounds for each gender category – narrowed down to eight who will go to finals. Medals are given to climbers who do the best in all three disciplines together – not for each category separately.