What happened in 1815 in Sri Lanka?

What happened in 1815 in Sri Lanka?

Kandyan Convention, agreement in 1815 between the United Kingdom and the chiefs of the kingdom of Kandy in Ceylon (Sri Lanka). Under the terms of the convention, Kandy was annexed to the other British holdings in Ceylon, giving Britain complete control over the island.

What did British do to Sri Lanka?

In 1802 by the Treaty of Amiens the Dutch part of the island was ceded to Britain and became a crown colony. In 1803 the British invaded the Kingdom of Kandy in the 1st Kandyan War, but were bloodily repulsed. In 1815 Kandy was captured in the 2nd Kandyan War, ending Ceylonese independence.

Who won the first Kandyan war?


1st Kandyan War
Location: Sri Lanka
East India Company Sinhalese
Result: British victory

Was Sri Lanka under British?

Independence was finally granted in 1948 but the country remained a Dominion of the British Empire until 1972. In 1972 Sri Lanka assumed the status of a Republic….History of Sri Lanka.

Prehistory Stone Age Bronze Age Iron Age 300,000 BP –543 BC
Sri Lanka Dominion Republic 1948–present

What is udarata Givisuma?

The Kandyan Convention (Sinhala: උඩරට ගිවිසුම Udarata Giwisuma) was an treaty signed on 2 March 1815 between the British Governor of Ceylon Sir Robert Brownrigg and the chiefs of the Kandyan Kingdom, British Ceylon (now Sri Lanka) for the deposition of King Sri Vikrama Rajasinha and ceding of the kingdom’s territory to …

Who led the Uva rebellion?

By September 1817, two leaders, Madugalle Basnayake Nilame and Ehelepola Nilame, surrendered to the British, and Pilimatalawe led the rebellion.

Was Sri Lanka a part of India?

The British always treated Sri Lanka as a separate territory. Both India and Sri Lanka got their independence one year apart, India gained her independence in 1947 and Sri Lanka gained his independence in 1948.

Who was the last queen of Sri Lanka?

Sri Venkata Rangammal Devi was one of the many wives of King Sri Wikramarajasinghe. She was known as a Randoli (chief queen) while the king had more concubines known as Rididolis and Yakadadolis.

Who is the last king of Sri Lanka?

Sri Vikrama Rajasinha (Sinhala:ශ්‍රී වික්‍රම රාජසිංහ, Tamil:ஸ்ரீ விக்ரம ராஜசிங்க; 1780 – January 30, 1832, born Kannasamy Nayaka) was the last of four Kings, to rule the last Sinhalese monarchy of the Kingdom of Kandy in Sri Lanka….Sri Vikrama Rajasinha of Kandy.

Sri Vikrama Rajasinha
Mother Subbamma Nayak
Religion Buddhism