What is the meaning of defensive driving?

Defensive driving means protecting yourself from more than just other drivers. It’s about thinking ahead and anticipating hazards so you can avoid accidents before they happen.

What is the meaning of defensive driving?

Defensive driving means protecting yourself from more than just other drivers. It’s about thinking ahead and anticipating hazards so you can avoid accidents before they happen.

What is the most common and comprehensive roadside inspection?

Level 1 of
The Level 1 of roadside inspection, which is also known as the North American Standard Inspection, is the most comprehensive of all the different types of roadside inspections. It is a 37-step procedure during which the CVSA safety inspector examines the commercial motor vehicle (CMV) as well as the commercial driver.

Which item is included in a daily safety inspection of a commercial vehicle?

An inspection that includes examination of driver’s license; Medical Examiner’s Certificate and Skill Performance Evaluation (SPE) Certificate (if applicable); alcohol and drugs; driver’s record of duty status, as required; hours of service; seat belt; vehicle inspection report(s) (if applicable); brake systems; cargo …

What are the three basic steps in the NSC?

Even when talking hands-free, drivers can miss seeing up to half of what’s around them because they are engaged in a cell phone conversation. The essentials of attentive driving include three basic steps: eyes on the road, hands on the wheel and mind on the driving task.

What are the three basic steps in the NSC collision?

Read the road ahead. Reduce your speed. Drive to the Right….The Collision Prevention Formula:

  • Recognize the hazards: Continuously scan the road ahead and behind checking your mirror every 3 to 5 seconds.
  • Understand the defense: Continuously scan the road for possible hazards.

What is the most common problem found in roadside inspections?

Here’s a list of the five most common vehicle maintenance violations discovered in roadside inspections:

  • Inoperative required lamps.
  • No or defective lighting.
  • Inspection/repair and maintenance, parts and accessories.
  • Tire tread depth less than 2/32 inch.
  • Oil and/or grease leak.

What determines a CMV?

2832, at 2833) defined a “commercial motor vehicle” as one having a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 10,001 pounds or more; designed to transport more than 15 passengers, including the driver; or transporting hazardous materials in quantities requiring the vehicle to be placarded.

How does a CVSA work?

CVSA Examiners are trained in a method called the Defense Barrier Removal (DBR®) system, which helps build rapport, relax the interview subject, and makes it easier for examiners to focus on stress directly related to the questions. This provides more trustworthy results with no inconclusive or false readings.

Can you lie and pass a CVSA?

Explain that the CVSA is the latest technology available in truth verification and is a precise instrument, and that there will not be any inconclusive results. The only reason they would fail this examination is if they lie.

What is the most common DOT inspection?

Level I inspections
Level I inspections are the most common and most thorough level of DOT inspections. During these checks, the DOT inspector looks at important documents, such as: the vehicle operator’s commercial driver’s license (CDL);

Who is responsible for ensuring a load is secured?

It is the responsibility of the motor carrier and the driver to ensure that any cargo aboard a vehicle is properly loaded and secured.

What is considered a commercial vehicle in Georgia?

GEORGIA DEFINITION OF A COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE (CMV) The definition of a commercial vehicle in Georgia that may apply to you if you operate a CMV in Georgia is: A commercial vehicle with a manufacturer’s gross vehicle weight (GVWR) or gross combination weight rating (GCWR) of 10,0001 or more pounds.

What is the definition of a commercial vehicle?

A commercial vehicle is defined as any vehicle weighing 10,001 lbs or more. Titles for ALL commercial vehicles should be applied for at the County Tag Office where the business is located or the individual resides.

What are Georgia’s federal motor carrier safety regulations?

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations, (FMCSR) that Georgia uses as a guideline states that periodic inspections of commercial motor vehicles must be performed to ensure that they can be safely operated. During the inspection, the components that must be inspected include:

What are Georgia’s commercial trucking regulations?

Commercial trucking regulations are meant to protect Georgia drivers and commercial truck operators. Without them, if you are injured in a commercial vehicle accident in Georgia, you would be left without recourse in the event of an accident.