Which political parties gave support to the Telangana bill in the Parliament?

Which political parties gave support to the Telangana bill in the Parliament?

20 February 2014: The Telangana bill is passed by Rajya Sabha with the support from the Congress, TRS, BJP and other local parties.

Who ruled Telangana now?

In the General Elections held in April 2014, Telangana Rashtra Samithi emerged victorious by winning 63 of the 119 seats and formed the government. Sri K Chandrashekar Rao was sworn in as the First Chief Minister of Telangana. The Telangana state was inaugurated formally on June 2nd 2014.

Which are the two states of Andhra Pradesh?

Andhra Pradesh comprises two major regions, namely Rayalaseema in the south-west and Coastal Andhra bordering the Bay of Bengal in the east and north-east. The state has thirteen districts, nine located in Coastal Andhra and four in Rayalaseema.

Is BJP government in Telangana?

Telangana Bharatiya Janata Party (or Telangana BJP) is a state unit of the Bharatiya Janata Party in Telangana. The headquarters is located in Hyderabad, the capital of the state. The party appointed Bandi Sanjay Kumar as the president of the BJP Telangana and he is currently serving to this position from 2020.

Which party is in power in Telangana?

In 2014 general elections, Telangana Rashtra Samithi emerged victorious in 63 of the 119 Assembly seats thereby securing the required number of legislators for forming the government along with highest vote share among political parties. KCR was sworn in as the first Chief Minister of Telangana.

When did Telangana Bill passed in Parliament?

On 18 February 2014, the Telangana Bill was passed by the Voice Vote in the Lok Sabha with support from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) while the live telecast of the House was cut off and the doors and galleries were sealed.

How Telangana got its name?

The name “Telangana” refers to the word Trilinga Desa, earned due to the presence of three ancient Shiva Temples at Kaleshwaram, Srisailam, and Draksharamam. A more historical reasoning is that during the reign of Nizams, the region was known as Telugu Angana to differentiate it from the areas where Marathi was spoken.

Which state is divided into two parts?

On 31 October 2019, Jammu and Kashmir state was split into two new Union Territories: Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh.

Which is not a boundary state of Telangana?

Telangana shares its boundary with Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, and Maharashtra. It does not share its boundary with Odisha.